This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

The Consular Network


The Consular Network

The Consular network
Currently the Italian diplomatic-consular network in South Africa is subdivided into areas of territorial jurisdiction in which the Consular Section in the Embassy is competent for the metropolitan area of Pretoria, and the Italian citizens residing in the other countries of diplomatic accreditation: Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritius and Namibia.

The Consulate General of Italy in Johannesburg is competent for Gauteng Province (excluding Pretoria), the Free State, North-West, Mpumalanga, Limpopo and KwaZulu-Natal.

The Consulate of Italy in Cape Town is competent for the Western Cape, Eastern Cape and Northern Cape.



Embassy of Italy  (Consular Section)  PRETORIA
Head of the Consular Section -  First Secretary Luca Pascali
796 George Avenue
Arcadia  0083
Tel.  +27 12 423-0000
Fax  +27 12 430-5547
Consular Section Opening times to the public:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday morning:  9.00  -  11.30
Wednesday afternoon:  14.00  -  16.00
Tuesday: Closed to the public

Consulate General of Italy in JOHANNESBURG
Consul General Emanuela Curnis
37, 1st Avenue (corner 2nd Street)
Houghton Estate  2196
P.O. Box 46306 – Orange Grove  2119
Tel.  +27 11 728-1392/3
Fax  +27 11 728-3834 Making an appointment with the Visa Section
Email addresses:
General – information:
Notary public office:
School office:
Visa office:
Social assistance

Consulate of Italy in CAPE TOWN
Consul: Emanuele Pollio
2 Grey’s Pass
Gardens  8000
Cape Town
Tel. +27 21 487-3900
Fax  +27 21 424-0146

Under the jurisdiction of the Consulate General of Italy in Johannesburg operates a Honorary Consulate in Durban:

Honorary Consulate of Italy in DURBAN
Honorary Consul Mr. Costantino BUCCIMAZZA
Italian Club – 82 Fairway – Durban North
Tel.: 031 5645678
Fax: 031 5645678
Cell. 083 4560131


Under the jurisdiction of the Consulate of Italy in Cape Town operate two Honorary Vice Consulates, in Port Elizabeth and East London.

Deputy Honorary Consulate of Italy GQEBERHA (ex PORT ELIZABETH)

Vice Console Onorario: Nadia Putigna

Italian Club, Harold Road, Charlo, Gqeberha



Deputy Honorary Consulate of Italy EAST LONDON

Vice Console Onorario: Vicky Anne Verwey Betta

14 Briar Lane Extension, Beacon Bay, East London

Tel: (+27) (0) 63 120 5528





The Honorary Consulates in Antananarivo and Nosy Be (Madagascar), the Honorary Consulate in Port Louis (Mauritius) and the Honorary Consulate General in Windhoek (Namibia) are under the jurisdiction of the Embassy of Italy in pretoria (Consular Section).


Honorary Consulate in Antananarivo - MADAGASCAR
Honorary Consul Michele FRANCHI

Zone d'activités mixtes THUYA Nouvelle Route Digue - Andohatapenaka 101 Antananarivo

Tel. +261 (0) 2022 225 54
Cell. +261(0)34 41 451 47


Honorary Consulate in Nosy Be - MADAGASCAR
Honorary Consul Claudio SIRAGUSA
c/o Hotel Marlin Club - Madirokely
B.P.205 – 207 Nosy Be
Tel. +261 32 07 127 64


Honorary Consulate of Italy in Port Louis - MAURITIUS
Honorary Consul:   Stefano ZINNO
Royal Road, Pointe aux Cannoniers, Propertymauritius building
Tel.  +230 2630-358
Fax  +230 697-5948
Cell. +230 525-04355

Honorary Consulate of Italy in Windhoek - NAMIBIA
Honorary Consul: Alessandro MICHELETTI

24 Schanzen Weg, Klein Windhoek, Windhoek
Cell. +264 81 308-8570